Warning: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, function 'if' not found or invalid function name in /home/wgor/public_html/norfu/includes/classes/functions.php on line 136

Welcome to North Otago Rugby

New Zealand Heartland Provincial Champions 2010

News & Views...

N.O Under 12 team 2016

North Otago Under12 Team

Tama Chapman, Eli Johnson, Charlie Mathias, Archie Mitchell, Quinn Gledhill, Ben Kay, Stanley McClure, Will Smillie (Kurow/Union), Corbin Fraser, Sam Keno (St Joseph’s), Floyd Tales, Liam Direen, Logan Taylor, Liam Mavor, Callum Park (Valley), Lotu Fifita, Toby Lewis, Wairma Childs, Manawa Hunt, Tyree Manaia (Athletic Marist), Jacob McLeod, Blake Parsons (Excelsior)

Rugby review - 2016 Citizens Shield Final


The pauper is now the prince.  After one hundred minutes of rugby, Maheno with a superb try in the last sixty seconds of extra time snatched a deserved 30-25 win over Old Boys in a thrilling Citizens Shield final at Whitestone stadium before a crowd estimated to be nearly two and half thousand vociferous supporters.

For Maheno captain, number eight Hayden Tisdall it was the result of two years of build-up.

"When we scored that last try it was just awesome.  It was a long 100 minutes but we got there in the end."

Maheno led 6-0 at halftime but Tisdall was not confident that it would be enough.

"You can't shut Old Boys out.  They always come back at you and as they proved in the second half they can score great tries from deep inside their half.  We had a good chat at halftime with Coaches Mark Wilson and Nic Anderson and instead of kicking as much we decided to our plan of running Old Boys wide and tire them out, and it worked.  We've got a very young team.  It's taken a couple of years or so to get confidence with each other and the ability to work off each other."


N.O Development team 2016

North Otago Development Team 2016

Unga Kefu, Jeremiah Shields, Seti Talalelei, (Old Boys), Michael Patterson, Cam Bennet, Tom Paton, Harvard Fale, Jesse Porter, James Scott, 

Dean Fenwick, (Kurow), Paea Palaa, Hayden James, Will Saulala, Keegan Anderson, Jamie Rhodes, (Athletic Marist), Josh Miller, James Pillay, 

Hamish Slater, Daniel McKay,
Ratu Karamana, (Excelsior), Hayden Tisdall, Marcus Balchin, Adam Johnson, Carn Parata, Lachie Kingan, (Maheno), Brad McKenzie, 

Dan Conlan, Cameron Rowland, Angus Gibb, Cameron Schultz, (Valley)

1st XV players selected for this year’s squad

Josh Hayward,  Funaki Lavemai, Sailosi Vea, Kieran McClea, Maka Mafile’o, Kafa Katoa ,(WBHS)

William Sunderland, Levi Emery, Neo Misiloi, Kelepi Funaki, Sami Havea, (St Kevin’s)


Training next Thursday 28 July 2016, 6.30pm at Whitestone Contracting Stadium

If unavailable or unable to make it please contact Kevin Malcolm 0274437321

N.O Under 11 team 2016

North Otago Under 11 Team

Zacayde Sage, Samuel Petrie, Cayden Hoffman, Jack Powell, Toby Growcott, Alex Wilson, Sam McCarthy, Mathew Woodhouse, Campbell Fowler, Max Fatafehi, Hotili Asi, Kiseka Fifita, Farrar Poasa, Meitei Siale, Lachie Mavor, Ryan Ruddle, Jesse Cope, Harrison Weir, Archie Thomas, Fin Bishop, Hamish Dodd, Jacob Cunningham.


Please contact the coaches if unavailable to be at training on Saturday 30 July 2016, 1.00pm Whitestone Contracting Stadium. 

Coaches Tim Petrie 027 222 2181 and Jason Mavor 021 340 712.